fbpx

Research & Collections

Staff Directory

Department of Museum Research and Collections Staff and Associates

Name Job Title Email
Dr. John Abbott Chief Curator & Director, Department of Museum Research & Collections
Affiliated Staff, Alabama Museum of Natural History
jabbott1@ua.edu
Dr. John P. Friel Director, Alabama Museum of Natural History
Program Advisor & Internship Coordinator, Museum Studies Program
Affiliated Staff, Department of Museum Research and Collections
jpfriel@ua.edu
Dr. Adiel A. Klompmaker Curator of Paleontology, Department of Museum Research & Collections
Affiliated Staff, Alabama Museum of Natural History
aaklompmaker@ua.edu
Bill Allen Collection Manager Archaeology, Department of Museum Research & Collections wrallen1@aalan.ua.edu
Dr. Mark Donop Deputy Director, Office of Archaeological Research
Curator of Archaeological Collections
mcdonop@ua.edu
Brandon Thompson Director and Curator, Gorgas House Museum brandon.s.thompson@ua.edu
Eugene M. Futato Curator Emeritus of Archaeological Collections efutato@ua.edu
Dr. Milton Ward Curator Emeritus, Entomology
Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences
mward@biology.as.ua.edu
Kendra Abbott Research & Outreach Coordinator, Alabama Museum of Natural History
Affiliated Staff, Department of Museum Research & Collections
Research Associate of Entomology
Kendra.Abbott@ua.edu
Dr. Cornelio Bota Sierra Postdoctoral Researcher cabotasierra@ua.edu
Dr. Prescott Atkinson Research Associate of Paleontology PAtkinson@peds.uab.edu
Dr. Harry (Bing) Blewitt Research Associate of Paleontology & Volunteer hblewitt@nc.ua.edu
Dr. Ron Buta Research Associate of Paleontology rbuta@ua.edu
Dr. Sandy Ebersole Research Associate of Paleontology sebersole@gsa.state.al.us
Dr. Drew Gentry Research Associate of Vertebrate Paleontology gentryd@uab.edu
C. Howard Grisham Research Associate Entomology howardgrisham@gmail.com
Dr. T. Lynn Harrell Jr. Research Associate of Paleontology TLHarrell@gsa.state.al.us
Dr. Takehito Ikejiri Research Associate of Vertebrate Paleontology tikejiri@bama.ua.edu
Caitlín R. Kiernan Research Associate of Vertebrate Paleontology caitlinrkiernan@gmail.com
George Martin Research Associate of Paleontology gmartin2803@charter.net
Dr. Cristina Robins Research Associate of Invertebrate Paleontology crobins@ua.edu
Juliana Sandoval-H. Research Associate of Entomology julisando@gmail.com
Dr. Amelia Ward Research Associate of Entomology
Professor Emeritus of Biological Sciences
award@biology.as.ua.edu
Abby Kennedy Undergraduate Researcher agkennedy1@crimson.ua.edu
Diana King Undergraduate Researcher dmking4@crimson.ua.edu
Michaela Lynch Undergraduate Researcher mllynch1@crimson.ua.edu
Mary Elizabeth Miller Undergraduate Researcher memiller17@crimson.ua.edu
Judith Lavender Volunteer judithlavender@att.net
Bailey Phillips Volunteer bphillips395@gmail.com
Alan Pomeroy Volunteer apomeroy@tuscaloosa-library.org

 

Curators and other personnel with appointments outside UA Museums

Name Job Title Email
Emily Bibb Curator, Paul R. Jones Collection of American Art ecbibb@ua.edu
Dr. Elliot Blair Faculty Curator, Southeastern Archaeology ehblair@ua.edu
Dr. John Blitz Faculty Curator Emeritus, Southeastern Archaeology jblitz@ua.edu
Dr. Ian Brown Faculty Curator Emeritus, Gulf Coast Archaeology ibrown@ua.edu
Dr. Steve Ginzbarg Assistant Curator Herbarium
Herbarium Collections Manager
sginzbar@ua.edu
Dr. Phillip Harris Faculty Curator, Ichthyology pharris@ua.edu
Dr. Jim Knight Faculty Curator Emeritus, American Archaeology vknight@ua.edu
Dr. Kevin Kocot Faculty Curator, Invertebrate Zoology kmkocot@ua.edu
Dr. Marcy Koontz Faculty Curator, Clothing and Textiles marcy.koontz@ua.edu
Dr. Juan López-Bautista Faculty Curator, Marine Invertebrates and Algae jlopez@ua.edu
Dr. Michael McKain Faculty Curator, Herbarium mrmckain@ua.edu
Dr. Alberto Pérez-Huerta Faculty Curator, Invertebrate Paleontology aphuerta@ua.edu
Dr. Virginia Wimberley Faculty Curator, History and Ethnology vwimberl@ches.ua.edu
Worth Pugh Coordinator, Zoological Collections mwpugh@ua.edu